Schedule Announced for Simley Spartan / MN Fury MLK Day Classic

December 30, 2013
By Fury Staff

INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, Minn. (December 30, 2013) - The Minnesota Fury AAU Club and Simley Spartans Girls Basketball Program are proud to announce the first Annual Martin Luther King Day Classic, to be held at Simley High School on January 20th, 2014.


The event will be the first multiple-game high school event to be held in the Minneapolis/St. Paul Metro area on Martin Luther King Day.  We are extremely excited about this event and the interest it has received.  This year, we will have three-games; but based on the positive responses from high school coaches, we expect it to possibly grow into an all-day event as schedules are formed for the 2014-15 season.


The schedule with game-times is below:


3:30pm: Chanhassen vs. Simley

5:15pm: Rosemount vs. Mankato Loyola

7:00pm: Anoka vs. Chaska



Among this talented field, you fill find two 2013 State Tournament teams (Mankato Loyola, Anoka) and two more teams who made Section Championship Game Appearances (Chaska, Simley).  There are eight players who have already made Division 1 commitments in Kylie Brown (Simley/Creighton), Danielle Gitzen (Chanhassen/Missouri State), Hannah Grim (Rosemount/Marquette), Lindsey Theuninck (Loyola/South Dakota State), Ellie Thompson (Chaska/South Dakota State), Kendall Baab (Chaska/Marist), Jordan Meyer (Anoka/North Dakota) and Claire Lundberg (Anoka/Seton Hall). 


Below is a list of Minnesota Fury players from the 2013 AAU season who will be playing in the event:


Hannah Grim, Rosemount

Maddie Olson, Rosemount

Lindsey Theuninck, Mankato Loyola

Jordyn Strachan, Mankato Loyola

Claire Lundberg, Anoka

Ellie Thompson, Chaska

Kendall Baab, Chaska

Hannah Rohe, Chaska

Angie Wenning, Chaska

Nicole Parsons, Chaska

Danielle Gitzen, Chanhassen

Olivia Wilder, Chanhassen

Nikki Lucas, Chanhassen

Kylie Brown, Simley

Maya DeLao, Simley

Abby Kain, Simley


Please email Nick Storm or Tim Peper for information or additional details, including press passes, which are available.



Nick Storm
Founder/Girls Co-Director

Tim Peper
Girls Co-Director

Andy Cerisier
Girls Co-Director

Andy Bromeling
So-Minn Fury Coordinator